Angel and the Big Birds

Looking back on last year I had fond memories of some fun days out and thought it was time I shared another adventure with you. This was an unusual day. How you ask? Well I live in Scotland, it was rainy September and shock, horror, the sun was shining bright.

Bring me sunshine

Bring me sunshine

Not wanting to miss an opportunity to top up my tan I got my wheels in gear and headed to Hogganfield Loch.

Hope the brakes are on

Hope the brakes are on

Hogganfield Loch was declared a Local Nature Reserve way before my time and is home to a variety of wild birds and other animals.  This massive Loch although a little journey away is easily accessible for my wheels and the perfect place to see some wildlife up close.

Now readers of my blog will know I am a little bit in love with the swans at my local park so you can imagine my excitement when I saw the Loch.

Hey birdie, birdie

Hey birdie, birdie

The mute swans may seem like the obvious stars of the show as they show off at every opportunity.

Strutting their stuff

Strutting their stuff

But if you look past them there are lots of little supporting acts to watch as they go about trying to steal the food thrown in off the bigger birds.

Eye catching

Eye catching

Hey which one of you is Donald

Hey which one of you is Donald

I also can’t forget the many gulls, although I admits I am not as keen on them when they swoops around, although if they did poo on the hoomans I would reconsider my stance and become their biggest fan.

Bomber command

Bomber command

Well you can see from the photos this is one busy Loch but it’s nice to have a wander to the quieter areas, so off I went for a little drive round in my wheels before hopping out for a little wander.

Fun in the sun

Fun in the sun

Although as you can see the peace doesn’t last long as as soon as the birds spotted me they started making their way over.

I think I'm being followed

I think I’m being followed

Although there is no loyalty from my feathered friends, as as soon as they see the food is all gone they are off to find their next meal ticket.

If the foods gone, we're gone

If the foods gone, we’re gone

Wandering further round the Loch I decided it was time to leave my wheels behind and go spy on two swans who were having a break from the flock.

Enjoying the view

Enjoying the view

Hi pals

Hi pals

There I was lying in the sun enjoying myself, feeling safe in the knowledge that a steep bank separated them from me.  Feeling brave I decided to get up for a better look and it was then I learned an important lesson, that my hoomans are clueless as swans can run up steep banks. Just as well my cowardly nature saw me scoot to safety.

Catch me if you can

Catch me if you can

Next time Furball, next time

Next time Furball, next time

After that drama I decided to hop back in my wheels and go a little further round the Loch where I was met with a wonderful little surprise, a little water Vole was working away in his little nest and scavenging for food.  After the swan chase I was tempted to offer my hoomans to him but he was too cute to be burdened with such stupidity.

Can I have some water please

Can I have some water please

Soon we arrived back where we started and I sat and watched the swans for another little while but then as the day grew old I wished my friends goodbye and goodnight.

Jessie Jr strikes a pose

Jessie Jr strikes a pose

Sleepy heads

Sleepy heads

However rather than heading home we decided to make a quick stop at the nearby Frankfield Loch to see if the herons were at home.  By luck they were, but I do worry for how long as they have decided to build a massive housing development literally a few metres from the Loch.   And sadly all too often when the developers move in the wildlife moves out.  I can only cross my paws and hope this does not happen at Frankfield.  We left as the dark creeped in and it got a little creepy.

The King of the loch

The King of the loch

Fetch me those sticks hooman

Fetch me those sticks hooman

Anyway pals apart from the bulldozers moving in it was a fabulous day out and once again made me appreciate how lucky we are to have these nature reserves and I also feel blessed that my wheels are letting me go further than I has ever been able to before.

About angelthefurball

Former street scruff living a life full of fun and adventure. I have a silly spine to match my silly attitude. I also have my own wheels that give me a licence to live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Angel and the Big Birds

  1. mariodacat says:

    Awww pal – your pictures are great. And I LOVE your wheels. You are one lucky dog. My dad is an artist (hobby kind) and he would love to paint one or two of your swan pictures. Would you care if he did that and can you send us an email saying it’s okay: ladycat3.04@gmail.com

  2. Sammy & Penny Boxers says:

    Oh Angel, this is another amazing adventure! I’m so happy to see that Jessie Jr was once again able to take part in your fun. I know my Jessie was smiling as we read this together. Ok looking forward to your next adventure! We love you.

  3. Kay and Louie says:

    Oh Angel wot a fantastic days adventure, I love all the brilliant pictures and me and mum love reading your fantastic blogs lots of love Louie xox.

Leave a Reply

