Angel and the Ghostly Going Ons

Hi all, as some of you may know I have been a little under the weather lately and so my autumn adventures are on hold, however don’t despair as I will soon be back to my cheeky best. But until then I still have lots of adventures to share with you.

Early in the summer we went up north for a little holiday and whilst there the hoomans did try to scare the fur right off my back by taking me to see some of Scotland’s most haunted castles. I think they are trying to turn me into Scooby Doo as well as saving a few pennies on my grooming bill.

Its a mystery

Its a mystery

Anyway ghosts and ghouls don’t scare me so off I went in my very own mystery machine to see what all the fuss was about.

First on the eek agenda was Drum Castle, this is one of the oldest tower houses in Scotland and was the seat of the chiefs of the Clan Irvine, and if the rumours are true their spirits still wander the corridors.

Furballs arrived, drum roll please

Furballs arrived, drum roll please

After posing for a photo, from a safe distance of course, I decided to have a closer look and hide behind the castle doors and jump out and scare some tourists. After all this fun it was time to have a little seat.

Boo

Boo

If your sitting comfortably

If you’re sitting comfortably

Did you hear something?

Did you hear something?

Suddenly I could feel eyes on me. My first thought was to send the hoomans to investigate, but I didn’t trust them not to do a disappearing act.

Slowly I looked up to be confronted by a fierce face, although as you can see it was more angry bird than ghost of Christmas past. Thinking it looked ready to catapult itself at me at any time I thought I’d better high tail it out of there.

Angry Bird

Angry Bird

Having left the little feathery fury behind we arrived at our next destination, Castle Frazer.

Castle Frazer

Castle Frazer

The fearless ghost hunter

The fearless ghost hunter

Castle Frazer

I’m not afraid of no ghosts

Built in the 16th century and one of the most beautiful of the Castles of Mar, it has a terrifying history. Legend has it a young Princess was murdered and her body dragged through the castle leaving a trail of blood which would reappear no matter what was used to remove it. Finally it was decided the only solution would be to cover the area with wood panelling and this exists to this day.

Whats behind me?

Whats behind me?

The young princess still walks the castle corridors at night, which is why my cowardly hoomans decided to visit during the day. I also has to admit I wasn’t too keen on getting close to the castle. Not because I was scared or anything, more because I didn’t want to stain their wood panelling with my mucky paws.

Run for your life

Run for your life

Leaving this terrible tale behind we had a quick stop at Crathes Castle, many of you may have heard of Crathes as it is here the Royal family head to to attend church when they are hanging out with the peasants, I mean pheasants, at Balmoral.

From a distance

From a distance

Crathes Castle is another very old building, maybe even as old as the hoomans and is famed locally for it’s resident green lady, she is often seen holding an infant in a sea of green mist and many years before during renovations the bones of a woman and child were found in the room she claims as her own. However the green lady is not feared as she is not seen as an evil spirit but more of a mischief maker and protector. My hoomans said they’ve got enough mischief in their lives dealing with me, so rude.

Creepy Crathes

Creepy Crathes

Ears up and alert

Ears up and alert

In the end it wasn’t the green lady that saw us run away but the evil Scottish weather as the rain came tumbling down. So we beat a fast retreat back to the lodge, unlucky for me we would resume our tour in the morning.

I don't think ghosts come out in the sun

I don’t think ghosts come out in the sun

The next morning the sun was shining and we found ourselves back on the ghost trail as we headed for the medieval fortress that is Dunnottar Castle. Built in the Middle Ages, this is where the Honours of Scotland, (Scotland’s Crown Jewels), were hidden when Cromwell and his army invaded Scotland in the 17th century. He never found them and they are now on display in Edinburgh castle.

Anyone got ear plugs

Anyone got ear plugs

Now there isn’t many photos of me posing at Dunnottar, this is because the castle is surrounded by steep cliffs that drop over 200ft in to the very chilly North Sea. As there is no fencing it was felt it was just too dangerous to let wobbly me strike my usual poses. But you will agree it’s an amazing sight.

Here ghosty ghosty

Here ghosty ghosty

It's a long way down

It’s a long way down

But what about the ghosts you cry, well of them there are many, people have reported hearing horrendous screaming and wailing as darkness falls, and seeing a young maid and a soldier or two. There’s even a ghostly dog, a young deer hound, he is often seen wandering the grounds, sadly he didn’t come out to say hello before we left for our final destination, only the most haunted castle in Scotland, Glamis Castle.

Putting the glam in Glamis

Putting the glam in Glamis

This castle is one that had me on full alert, not only for it’s ghostly goings on but also for its dreaded link to Macbeth. No way would the brake on my wheels be activated on this visit as a quick exit might just be necessary and here’s why.

In December 1537 Janet Douglas, the widow of The Lord of Glamis, was burned at the stake on a false accusation of witchcraft. Now known as the Gray Lady she wanders the castle along with Earl Beardie, who has been reported to terrorise visiting children, when not doing this it is said he frequents a secret chamber where he plays cards with the devil. As if this wasn’t bad enough their is a young servant boy, two soldiers engaged in a sword fight, rumours of vampires and most frightening of all a young lady with her tongue cut out who runs through the grounds unable to scream and pointing at her mouth.

Hold your tongue hoomans

Hold your tongue hoomans

I considered looking for the hidden chamber but they have a no Furball policy inside the castle so i fired up my wheels and headed for a look around the grounds, where I saw some creatures great and small.

When your smiling

When your smiling

Eek no tongue

Eek no tongue

Oi, Oi, Mr Oystercatcher

Oi, Oi, Mr Oystercatcher

Singing for his supper

Singing for his supper

Ghosts make me jumpy

Ghosts make me jumpy

Helloooo!!!!

Helloooo!!!!

Extreme fringing

Extreme fringing

Looks like he's seen a ghost

Looks like he’s seen a ghost

After all this fun I decided to hop out of my wheels and have a little seat in the sun only to find myself looking down the barrel of a cannon. My whiskers sure did shiver until I saw me travelling companion Jessie Jr waiting to be blasted over to me, I’m always happy to catch her in my paws.

Oh my dog I've been shot

Oh my dog I’ve been shot

Jessie boom boom

Jessie boom boom

It's been long day

It’s been long day

As this adventure drew to a close I found myself cursing that I hadn’t seen the ghost I had hoped to see, the big yummy marshmallow guy from Ghostbusters, I sure was looking forward to chewing on his tootsies. Looking back I am trying to think what was the scariest part of this adventure, well that’s easy, it was the admission prices, I think the hoomans hair will stand on end when they get bill for all our ghostly going ons.

About angelthefurball

Former street scruff living a life full of fun and adventure. I have a silly spine to match my silly attitude. I also have my own wheels that give me a licence to live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angel and the Ghostly Going Ons

  1. noahzbark says:

    Angel, Your adventures are wonderful & I’m so glad you share them with us. Please feel much better soon. We want you to feel your very best.

  2. Sammy & Penny Boxers says:

    Well Sis, you’ve done it again! Another great adventure. Thanks for sharing the history behind each one. The castles may be creepy, but they’re beautiful. I love how they all seem to have benches ideal for a Furball. I still get leaky eyes knowing that Jessie Jr is able to share in the fun. I know it makes Jessie smile too. xo

Leave a Reply

