Angel and the spring in her step

So as the long and cold winter disappeared and spring reared its beautiful head I embarked on a week long adventure to one of my favourite places, Aberdeenshire.

It’s a long drive to where we would be resting our heads so we planned a little stop off at Montrose where rumour has it there is a giant basin. I presumed it was somewhere giant hoomans washed in but for once, and perhaps the only time, I was wrong. The Montrose Basin is actually a beautiful wildlife hangout.

Furball's in town

Furball’s in town

The original plan was to have a wander round the basin but unfortunately a week of rain before our visit left the mud flats too dangerous. I wasn’t going to risk walking on them especially as I remembered how two of the hoomans friends sunk in the mud at Hollimgworth Lake and had to be rescued by the fire brigade whilst a group of onlookers filmed them on their phones. They was fine, if a little, okay a lot, embarrassed but their shoes is still missing, presumed dead.

I've not got that sinking feeling

I’ve not got that sinking feeling

Nice feathers pal

Nice feathers pal

Songbird

Songbird

So having decided I wasn’t going to suffer that embarrassment I made myself comfy and admired the view from afar. Although I was a little further than I had hoped I still saw enough to keep my happy.

🎶 Oh I do like to be beside the seaside 🎶

🎶 Oh I do like to be beside the seaside 🎶

Feathering her nest

Feathering her nest

Always glad to see a gadwell

Always glad to see a gadwell

I give these the Furball seal of approval

I give these the Furball seal of approval

Then suddenly I got a surprise when an anipal got unexpectedly close, I’m not sure who got the bigger surprise, well to be honest it was probably the cow as it was bigger. But I don’t think it was supposed to be at my side of the fence, and thankfully it wandered back to the field as I was worrying it might wander down and get itself stuck in the mud.

She's behind you

She’s behind you

Moo-ve it

Moo-ve it

Anyway after all that excitement it was onwards and upwards towards Aberdeen, the oil capital of Scotland. Hopefully whilst there I would be able to get my paws on some of that oil and get my squeaky wheels sorted.

Squeak Squeak

Squeak Squeak

Arriving at Duthie Park the sun was still shining. This massive park sits on the River Dee and houses one of the most spectacular winter gardens in Britain, in which there is a beautiful Japanese Garden which houses a memorial to those who lost their life at Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

Remembrance Garden

Remembrance Garden

Monuments and Memorials

Monuments and Memorials

Ditching my wheels to stretch my legs I decided to check out the fountain. Thirsty as I was, a drink was not to be had as someone must have turned the tap off, but it was comfy to have a little pose then snooze in. I think the words on the fountain were quite apt don’t you.

Pup up and away

Pup up and away

Run Furball Run Run Run

Run Furball Run Run Run

Four paws in the fountain

Four paws in the fountain

Couldn't have said it better myself

Couldn’t have said it better myself

Em, no, it wasn't me sitting in the fountain

Em, no, it wasn’t me sitting in the fountain

Get my best side

Get my best side

Heading back to the car I took a spin round the duck pond, or should I say duckless pond. Where on earth do all the Aberdeen ducks hang out I wondered?

Who let the ducks out

Who let the ducks out

And I soon found out they like to hang out in a smaller park, a hidden gem in Aberdeen called Johnston Gardens. The sun was splitting the skies when I arrived and happily I soon found I had the park to myself, well apart from my feathered friends that is. The ducks were having a squabble with the gulls and all around was the sound of birdsong.

Hello ducky

Hello ducky

The gull has landed

The gull has landed

Oooh mucky water

Oooh mucky water

A little robin took to following us, and was even happy to eat out the hoomans hand, and then a blackbird decided it wanted some seed too.

A bird in the hand

A bird in the hand

Can I have some?

Can I have some?

It's mine, all mine

It’s mine, all mine

Wheeling my way around this little park was delightful but I didn’t see any newly weds, seemingly they likes to come here for their wedding photos and this is why.

Flower power

Flower power

Blooming gorgeous

Blooming gorgeous

Cause I'm happy

Cause I’m happy

Water picture, Water photograph

Water picture, Water photograph

Taxi for Furball

Taxi for Furball

Tired from all my fun it was time to head to our cabin in the woods, which I am pleased to report was beautiful and not at all like the one in the film.  It even had every dogs dream, a palm tree inside, although thankfully all the little birds stayed outside including a little nest built by house martins who had travelled all the way from Africa just to meet me.

That tree is mine

That tree is mine

Flowers for Furball

Flowers for Furball

Grubs up

Grubs up

Out of Africa

Out of Africa

After all my excitement it was time for a snooze, but fear not pals my Aberdeen adventure had just begun, so tune in next week for more fun with the Furball.

Sleepy head

Sleepy head

About angelthefurball

Former street scruff living a life full of fun and adventure. I have a silly spine to match my silly attitude. I also have my own wheels that give me a licence to live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angel and the spring in her step

  1. Penne & Warden says:

    On Angel, so glad you are feeling so much better. Love your adventures. I wish I could go with you but Warden keeps me inside now. Ugh! Love you

  2. mariodacat says:

    What a great outing you had, and we so appreciated seeing your pictures. It’s as close as we’ll ever get to seeing your beautiful country.

Leave a Reply

