Angel and the Monarch of the Glen

Hi it’s me Angel, your intrepid explorer back with a new adventure. I hope your enjoying my travels in my home country of Scotland, it is magnificent if you know the special places to go, and I do.

My day started with a trip to the sand dunes of Balmedie, one of the most beautiful, unspoiled areas of natural beauty, well it was until our crazy government allowed Dnald Trump to tear them up to build a golf course. Just what Scotland needs, another windbag and another golf course. Mr Trump has now fallen out with us over plans to build wind farms offshore from the dunes, well with that barnett of his I guess wind is a big concern.

Looking for Donald

Looking for Donald

But back to the dunes which stretch 14 miles from Aberdeen to Newburgh. The dunes are made up of a stable grassland, mostly marram grass. They support a large array of wildlife but due to the density of the grassland you rarely see it, well apart from the odd bunny hopping about.

I think it's this way

I think it’s this way

Or maybe it's this way

Or maybe it’s this way

Just follow the bunny

Just follow the bunny

During the 2nd World War the beach was used as a bomb cemetery. Defused and unexploded bombs from Luftwaffe raids on Aberdeen were brought to the dunes where they were cleaned of explosives or detonated on the shore. It was towards this shore we were headed, I wish you could have seen the hoomans puffing as they pushed and lifted me and my luxury wheels higher and higher into the dunes on our quest to reach the beach, they was puffing enough to have their own wind farm working at full capacity, while I just smiled.

A well earned break

A well earned break

Anyway we finally reached the top only for me to have a good old snort as it would appear we had taken a wrong turn and there was no way down to the beach from our location, so we had to back track and it was only on reaching the bottom again we looked at the information board to find we had just puffed our way up to an area that was extremely hazardous and to be avoided at all costs. Typical hoomans, useless. But it sure was beautiful view even if the weather looked threatening.

It's a long way down

It’s a long way down

Cloud busting

Cloud busting

After all the exertion of climbing the dunes it was onwards but hopefully not upwards and a short drive later we arrived at our next destination, the absolutely stunning Glen Muick.

This here is a map hoomans, look at it this time

This here is a map hoomans, look at it this time

Glen Muick lies close to Braemar and as you wander through the glen you will soon arrive at a beautiful freshwater Loch, this is Loch Muick. The Glen actually sits on the Balmoral Estate which is owned by some well known family, the Royal family I think they are called. You would have thought they would have wanted to meet me but maybe they were put off by the peasants, I mean hoomans, I was with.

The weather was still overcast as we arrived and as I came out the car a little Chaffinch hopped out of the bushes, he must have known I always carry a secret stash of seed and peanuts on my travels.

Watch the birdie

Watch the birdie

After throwing him a few nuts we were off through the Glen towards Lock Muick, which is a site to behold especially on a sunny day, which it wasn’t.

Lady of the Glen

Lady of the Glen

A river runs through it

A river runs through it

Teeny tiny waterfall

Teeny tiny waterfall

Unfortunately for us the sun continued to hide but the wild red deer weren’t and we sat and watched them.  

I can see you

I can see you

The Monarch of the Glen

The Monarch of the Glen

A Stag do

A Stag do

Watching me, watching you

Watching me, watching you

Oh dear, that's not a deer

Oh dear, that’s not a deer

It wasn’t until later I realised  that way up on the hillside a grand old stag was watching me.

I get the feeling somebody's watching me

I get the feeling somebody’s watching me

Peek-a-Boo

Peek-a-Boo

Now for any pal planning to follow in my paw steps, an important piece of advice for this area, ticks are rife so be vigilant if you go into the long grass, this advice applies to hoomans as well as us dogs. I am happy to report we headed home exhausted but tick free, that’s  the luck of the Furball I guess.

Tick-tock, time to go home

Tick-tock, time to go home

About angelthefurball

Former street scruff living a life full of fun and adventure. I have a silly spine to match my silly attitude. I also have my own wheels that give me a licence to live life to the full.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Angel and the Monarch of the Glen

  1. Sammy & Penny Boxers says:

    What a lovely surprise to see this blog! I’m happy that you were able to get out for a new adventure. You look as gorgeous as always. Ooooh, seeing baby Jessie join your travels always makes me smile.
    Love you Sis. Love to Mum too.
    xoxo

  2. Great to see you back on your adventures, have missed you & your blog sending big big hugs 😘

  3. Cheryl Fialka says:

    Ooh soo pleased you are back with such a wonderful adventure to report on! Loved the photos too all looked amazing as did you gorgeous Angel Furball💞💞💞💞💞xxx

Leave a Reply

